Suggestions/Feedback Dog Travel Forum

This topic was posted in the Suggestions/Feedback Forum on May 28, 2016 7:53 p.m.. If you can help with this question about Suggestions/Feedback, please post a reply.

Beach Dog Prejudice

I have been taking my two dogs to the public beach in East Haven, CT for years. As a resident, I enjoy a beach pet-walk off-season &/or after hours after a long, stressful day. My dogs TOTALLY look forward to their evening beach walk & are even on a "timer", meaning every nite @ 6:30 they start bugging me to take them there. My Lab especially loves it since-like all Labs-she loves a dip in the water. My terrier always seems to be hot & can't wait to feel the cool breeze near the sound.
I am a very responsible dog-owner. I leash my dogs (except when quite near the shore so they can swim), I clean up after them & I make sure I'm considerate of others who may have a fear of dogs. We stay below the tide line and away from any left-over crowds.
Anyway, tonight I was accosted buy a surly anti-dog man who lives in a Condo overlooking the beach. I have never seen this man before in all my years of walking my dogs there. He screamed & screamed at me about the "no dogs regulation" on the beach & how we needed to leave immediately. He was irate, rude & I couldn't get a word in edgewise. I AM aware of the "NO Dogs" rule, but many other dog owners have brought their pets to that same beach after hours without incident.
I told him that there was no sign posted at the entrance I came in, but he carried on about the (only)sign posted on the beach bath house.
SO....We left. But I was left w/ a sour taste in my mouth & very disgruntled because now my nightly walks have come to a screeching halt & I don't know WHAT I'm gonna do come 6:30 every nite! My dogs are going to be CRUSHED!
I did go over and read the said sign on the bath house. It said "NO BIKES" (I counted 3), "NO FLOTATION DEVICES" (they were all over),